Friday, January 13, 2012

TODAY SHOW, America's Favorite Morning TV Program Turns 60

Today is the 60th anniversary of the TODAY SHOW on NBC. It was on January 13, 1952 that Dave Garroway kicked off the very first "Today" episode, and the show has never left. It is now the fifth-longest-running American television show of all time. In today's program, Today's past anchors gathered including Hugh Downs, Barbara Walters, Jim Hartz, Tom Brokaw, Jane Pauley, Bryant Gumbel, Willard Scott, Deborah Norville, Katie Couric, and Meredith Vieira all gathered in Studio 1A to share their stories.  "I look at 60 years as a major accomplishment, something we'll be able to tell our children about," current host Matt Lauer said in a video recap of Today's legacy. And to drive home just how much has been accomplished -- and how things have changed -- over that six-decade span, the show's anchors, both past and present, gathered to reminisce about their Today experiences." Several former Today Girls also joined the broadcast, including Florence Henderson, Estelle Parsons, Lee Meriwether, Robbin Bain Gaudieri and Beryl Pfizer. Pictured above are scenes from this morning's show including shot-through-the-glass photos of past Today show anchors.

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Great show!!! Loved the addition of the today show girls, especially Miss Rhiengold, ROBBIN BAIN